Empowering education

We believe in the power of teachers to inspire students and elevate our community.


The NBTA consists of 27 local branches across the province. In May, each branch hosts a local AGM and elects a president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, director(s), and alternate director. Each branch has teacher representatives, referred to as School Reps, who attend Branch Rep Council meetings with a local branch executive. Branches meet regularly to discuss a variety of issues, including retirement functions, teacher concerns, bursaries, and NBTA initiatives.

Need information on your branch? Access branch contact information by clicking here.

Role of Branches

The role of the NBTA Branches is to direct and supervise the business, property and affairs of the Branch in conformity with the principles and directives of the Association.

Each branch will have several local committees (i.e., Professional Learning, Professional Conduct & Standards (Ethics), Retirement, etc.) who provide advice and make decisions regarding a variety of local issues. Each branch has a POINT Rep, who liaises with early career teachers.

An NBTA Staff Officer is also attached to each Branch to attend meetings, provide support, and be a provincial contact for Branch concerns.

Skip to content